RSS

25 life lessons I learned before turning 25

23 Oct


1. Always see the glass half full

“A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty.” – Winston Churchill

Positive psychology is the key to success. This will ‘Prepare you’ to accept the lemons from life, to make a lemonade.

2. One Love for the Family

Family is important. I’m blessed to have a family who support and trust me in whatever decisions I make. I got to know their worth especially when I was living far away. I still get homesick lol. Fortunately God also let me meet some people like my yaya lucy(in davao) or my brother(s) from other mother(s) I made or my close friends who blend in with me like if we share blood. Props to y’all.

3. Make time for adventure

“Traveling tends to magnify all human emotion.” – Peter Hoeg

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” – Mark Twain

Listen to ‘enjoy yourself ‘ by Guy Bombardo, you will know what I am talking about. My recent adventure is to scuba dive, to climb hills and mountains. I feel like ‘without adventure, you don’t live life(to the fullest).’ It gives you a thrill to fathom life, nature for all the beauty He has created, in finding your inner self and it will connect you to God. Be cautious yet be brave. There is no success without risk.

4. Do not expect

I learned this the hard way after receiving many disappointments. You are responsible for your own happiness, do not expect from anything or anyone. (unless it is someone you trust like your parents.)

5. Forgive & Forget

One of the important lessons I’ve learned is to move on (by forgiving) & be happy. Take your time to forgive but just do it, The sooner the better. Let it go.

6. No regrets

To err is human. We learn from our mistakes and try not to repeat them but what truly helps you move on from your past is to have no regrets. Let bygones be bygones.

7. Accept rejection

I have a subtle way to accept rejection. Neurologically your brain stimulates the same areas that get active during physical pain when you get rejected. I mean what could be worse – ostracism? You can’t please everybody. Rejection doesn’t disprove your worth & it is only temporary. On the bright side, God gives you many opportunities in life. Count your blessings. I bet you have more blessings than a few rejections.

Let it be a positive or a negative experience, Thank the experience because one made you happy and the other taught you. Believe ‘Everything happens for a reason & for your own good.’ Even if you won’t realize it at that moment, you will in time.

8. Patience is a virtue

“How poor are they that have not patience! What wound did ever heal but by degrees?” – Shakespeare

It is always worth the wait. They say ‘good things come for the ones who wait’ , I believe better things come to you while you wait, work hard and have some faith.

9. Abate negativity from your life

Have you seen YouTube comments lately? It’s ridiculous how people bash against each other for no apparent reason. I’ve personally dealt with narcissists, attention seekers, condescending braggers, sociopaths and other personalities that psychology has taught me. Dealing with them? Simple – Ignore. There is so much negativity in this world lately, saw the news? We can’t do anything about it, only to hope there will be a change in this world. What we can do is to contribute a little to the universe by being kind & helping others, being positive and spreading that energy around. Contribute your part for world peace.

10. Compassion brings you true happiness

When you help others, not through money (at least not always) but in other ways like finding time for a friend when they need you emotionally, even if she isn’t your best pal or helping a blind man cross the street. It can bring you happiness. Training at the hospital has taught me this, to show humility & be more humble. I started to not only help others but I pray for them too. I have to thank few good samaritans who inspired me. There are good people out there, you should be one of them.

11. Time heals your pain

We get wounded by a lot of things especially by our loved ones demise. Only time can heal your pain. One day at a time.

12. Don’t judge a book by its cover

At times, we misconstrue people or a situation. Unless we know that person personally or the situation, we do not have the right to judge by the semblance. Inner beauty does exist.

13. Vicissitude is good

People change, situations change and you change in time. Few years ago, God let me face an upheaval. I didn’t expect it and I have never faced any problem alone. It was my first time away from home & trust me I severely lacked problem solving skills. But the experience taught me how to survive. Change is acceptance.

14. Dream big & make ’em come true

“Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

‘I’m possible’ exists in impossible. I had my share of ‘break’ moments when I don’t achieve some goal even after trying and working so hard, the frustration leaves me impatient and I just want to give up. But in time and experience I realized ‘your dreams do come true.’ All I needed was perseverance. Like in Bruce almighty – Be the miracle.

15. Learn how to say ‘no’

You need to say NO once in a while to people or situations that make you miserable or from being manipulated or bullied. You choose what is right for you. Don’t let people take you for granted.

16. Know & Be thyself

“Peace comes from within. Do not seek it without.”- Buddha

Nobody can help you better than you help yourself. Knowing yourself can help you accustom, get in touch with your inner wisdom and choose what is best for you.

Similarly your ethical values are important. Having boundaries in life is a good foundation for self control. Don’t let anyone change you, True friend accepts you for who you are. There is nothing wrong in being different. Be a virgin, be a teetotaler, be an atheist, be gay, it’s your choice. As long as your choices ‘do no harm’, Don’t let anything change you.

“Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.” – Oscar Wilde

17. Never leave your avocation

If Einstein can find time for violin, can’t you? I used to paint & craft a lot during childhood. When I grew up, I derailed from it but I found new form of passion for art through fashion and makeup. Music is my medicine, I never stopped dancing lol and Writing fuels my inner creativity. Avocation is a commodity to a stressfree mind.

18. Believe your intuition

“Intuition is seeing with the soul.” – Dean Koontz

When in doubt, follow your intuition. You will thank yourself later.

19. Life is a journey, not a destination

Have you seen the movie ‘The bucket list’? I cry every time I watch it. “Find the joy in your life.” Such a sagacious concept.

People enter your life for a reason, a season or a lifetime. We meet many people in life but some people, we remember them for a lifetime despite the fact that you only met them once, like the saint who rescued me in kalahasthi when I was lost.

Rich or poor, as humans we all experience the ups and downs in life. It is a crasis of exuberance, encumbrance, success, setback, love, loss, serendipity and mishap. You gain wisdom through life lessons and the journey never stops until your grave.

Embrace the reality of how these life lessons have molded you to be a better and a stronger you. Continue your journey to do more, to give more and find the purpose of your life.

20. Enjoy this very moment

“In the name of God, stop a moment, cease your work, look around you.” -Leo Tolstoy

There is a lot of time we waste, most of it gets lost in our busy lives and us thinking about the past or worrying about the future. Present is a gift. Pause your mind once in a while and tell yourself ‘i need to be here now.’ Enjoy your job, enjoy your company, enjoy playing with your pet, enjoy music or doing something you love.

21. Learn to be alone

“Solitude is painful when one is young but delightful when one is more mature.” – Albert Einstein

Being alone is not being lonely. I am an ambivert. Sure no man is an island but I am a lone reader & for study purposes I had to customize the way I live. There were circumstances when my friends weren’t available or our schedules clashed because of work. My past has taught me to be independent. I learned to explore places or go to a coffee shop or get a manicure all by myself. Enjoy the solitude to write, listen to music, read, cook, clean and do a lot of things. Some ‘me time’ once a day gives you time to ponder on your goals, what you’re doing? What to do next? So don’t be afraid in future if you get to live alone.

22. Eat Pray Love

This isn’t just for a middle aged woman who’s figuring out who she is & what she wants in life after a divorce. Being stress free is crucial for anyone. Exercise is a great way to let go off all the negative energy. You need to eat healthy and live healthy through exercise. Don’t forget to pray, say a few words to God just once a day or meditate to attain spiritual uplift. Of course we all are fortunate enough to love and be loved.

23. Learn a new thing everyday

When I was 15, a physics professor told us this and I’ve been following it ever since. Whether it is a new english word, a new language, an advice, an inspiration or a skill. Keep learning. Knowledge is an ocean, there is a lot that you don’t know.

24. Have faith & gratitude

Silver lining & Serendipity are 2 such magical words that make you believe in that ‘ray of hope.’ Do not ever give up. Let it be love, career or a goal. Do your best and have some faith. If you keep facing failures then you are not unlucky, you are still in the darkness. It’s time to change your perspective & When you find that light, you will instinctively be grateful.

25. When you grow old, you don’t feel old. You feel like yourself!

Betty white, the gorgeous 90 year old woman said it. Taking other wise and insightful thoughts into consideration, I am not scared about ageing. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
