RSS

God has no religion

28 Oct

“This is my simple religion. There is no need for temples; no need for complicated philosophy. Our own brain, our own heart is our temple; the philosophy is kindness.” –  Dalai Lama

This is my first philosophical post online and I hope I can make a good dissertation. Gandhi said ‘God has no religion’ as a quintessential attribute for equality and non violence. I am a born Hindu. Hinduism is open to other religions. I grew up from teachings in a catholic school and listening to Islamic salat. During childhood, a quandary as in ‘why are we praying to different Lords?’ has been elusive to me.

Everyone follows his/her own path in faith to find the truth. I believe life is a journey and every happening has a true meaning. I feel the same way about going to the Philippines. It allowed me to self discover and find my way to God. During my stay, many catholic colleagues insisted on believing only in Jesus.( I understand that they are only following what bible said.) One of the most memorable moments is my group long natters about God during our rural subinternship. It was 2012 and everyone had their own conspiracy theories about how the world might end. I can see the fear in their eyes. They brought me aware of a lot of issues including illuminati. I did my research and learned a lot of information that is true regarding this. I don’t want to dig into the details. I do believe if God exists then evil does exist. Our discussion kept going on for a few days. One of them said Hinduism isn’t real. I demurred. Archeological evidence states that Krishna existed 3000 years Before Christ.

It has been an intense week of dilemma. On a religious contemplation, I read our vedas which were conveniently available online. I found this particular Rig veda stating ‘God is one.’

“Truth(God) is one, but the wise men know it as many.”
“God is one, but we can approach Him in many ways.” –  The Rig Veda

In fact our Hindu symbol OM represents that One God Brahman (not brahma) who has no shape or form (same like The Father in Christianity). I had a moment of epiphany. I guess I became old enough to decipher God, to educe that God is indeed One.

Swami Vivekananda said “The goal of mankind is knowledge. Now this knowledge is inherent in man. No knowledge comes from outside, it is all inside. What we say a man ‘knows’, should in strict psychological language be what he ‘discovers’ or ‘unveils’; what man ‘learns’ is really what he discovers by taking the cover off his own soul, which is a mine of infinite knowledge.”

I feel like this is what I did.

Religions, castes and holy books written by the great saints are after all man made. This brings back the question – chicken first or egg first? Who knows what happens to you after you die? Heaven, hell or reincarnation? Nobody knows the truth until you see for yourself.

The holy reason why God made people believe in the religions (even if it were man made) was for us to follow the right path where there are morals and commandments that humble us from doing the right or wrong. Religion isn’t a bad thing but the dilemma was created by our human stupidity to fight over religions about what is real or unreal.

The obvious question. So based on my epiphany, am I going to give up my religion? No.

Why? Because I am not the baffled faith finder anymore. Religion gives you the richness of integrity that I can pass on for generations. On the contrary, I believe in all religions. Because I believe that God has sent many prophets/messengers/Lords from Krishna to Buddha, at different places and times, to keep us on track (on the good side). That’s the reason why there are 4200 religions around the world right now.

Faith exists in different forms but it has the same feeling. Faith leaves an ambiguous answer. It is up to you to choose what to believe in. Peace.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 28, 2013 in Philosophy

 

Leave a Reply

 
